Cavisynth : le monde du modulaire, rendu accessible

Electronic music without a computer

Stéphane has been making electronic music for more than 30 years. As is the case for many, he began by using computer programs for his composition. After years of practice on many different instruments, he realized that his creativity was drastically amplified when he took the computer out of the equation and started using physical instruments exclusively. He also discovered the world of modular synthesizers, using them to personalize his creative process, using the computer only as a simple multitrack recorder. This musical evolution can be followed through his project Boodaman.

Simple, unique and cheap instruments

While honing his musical identity, Stéphane ended up realizing that some of his ideas required the creation of completely new instruments. The eurorack modular platform, with which he was already familiar, lent itself perfectly to this kind of project: he started to imagine new module ideas. The first one to see the day was the Ardurack, a “swiss-knife” utility that uses the basic square wave as the foundation of all its functions. All the following projects will be made under the same leitmotiv: to make instruments that are simple, unique and cheap. For Stéphane, this is also the beginning of a process of self-learning electronics design. The knowledge he acquires gives him new perspectives on the inner workings of synthesizers and, soon enough, he starts uploading Youtube videos that simplify and popularize the fundamental aspects of modular synthesis.

Social meet-ups throughout western Switzerland

Stéphane’s need to share his passions doesn’t stop at Youtube. In 2016, he co-founded the ADSR GENEVA association with his friends Jérôme Grandchamp and Olivier Kolly. Together, they wanted to set up social meet-ups for passionate synthesists. Two ideas came of it: modular pic-nics and modular nights, events that allow both for the die-hard users of the instrument to meet and share their knowledge, as well as for the bystanders to discover a rich world of sounds through easy-to-understand demos. All current and future events of the association can be followed on their website.

Throughout our discussion, it became apparent that these various projects (popularizing modular synths, social meet-ups and designing accessible instruments) all have their source in Stéphane’s commitment to sharing his knowledge and experiences. Even though he gave different identities to each project, they all come together in a deep passion for electronic music.

Cavisynth : le monde du modulaire, rendu accessible

La musique électronique sans ordinateur

Stéphane fait de la musique électronique depuis plus de 30 ans. Comme beaucoup, il a fait ses débuts sur un logiciel de composition sur son ordinateur. Après des années de pratique sur divers instruments, il se rend compte que sa créativité est décuplée quand il sort l’ordinateur de l’équation et compose uniquement avec des instruments physiques. Il découvre notamment le monde des synthétiseurs modulaires et se forme un processus créatif “bien à lui”, reléguant le rôle de l’ordinateur à un simple enregistreur multipiste. On peut suivre cette évolution musicale au travers de son projet Boodaman.
 

Des instruments simples, originaux et pas chers

En se forgeant sa propre identité musicale, Stéphane finit par se rendre compte que certaines de ses idées nécessitent la création de nouveaux instruments. La plateforme modulaire eurorack, à laquelle il s’est déjà familiarisé, se prête parfaitement à ce genre de projets : il commence à imaginer des nouveaux modules. Le premier qui verra le jour est l’Ardurack, un "couteau-suisse" utilitaire qui puise toutes ses fonctions dans l'onde carrée de base. Tous les projets qui suivront seront pensées selon un même leitmotiv : des instruments simples, originaux et pas chers. Pour Stéphane, c'est aussi le début d'un apprentissage autodidacte de l'électronique. Les connaissances qu'il acquiert lui offrent des nouvelles perspectives sur le fonctionnement des synthétiseurs et, bientôt, il commence à alimenter sa chaîne Youtube avec des vidéos de vulgarisation des concepts fondamentaux de la synthèse modulaire.

Rencontres musicales en Suisse Romande

L’envie de partage de Stéphane ne s’arrête pas à Youtube. En 2016, il co-fonde l’association ADSR GENEVA avec ses amis Jérôme Grandchamp et Olivier Kolly. Ensemble, ils ont envie d’organiser des rencontres entre passioné·es de synthèse. Au menu : pique-niques modulaires et modular nights, des événements qui permettent à la fois aux férus de l’instrument de se rencontrer et partager des connaissances, ainsi qu’aux passant·es de découvrir un monde sonore très riche au moyen de démonstrations accessibles. On peut suivre l’actualité de ces événements via le site web de l’association.

À l’issue de notre discussion, on se rend compte que ces divers projets (vulgarisation, rencontres sociales et design d’instruments accessibles) puisent tous leur source dans une profonde envie de partage qu’on remarque chez Stéphane. Malgré qu’il leur a donné des identités différentes, ils se rejoignent sous le signe d’une grande passion pour la musique électronique.